Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

How do you do U-Turns?

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by jate, Oct 12, 2006.

1. Hi, I'm a fresh newbie on a bike, cant figure out how do you do U-Turn's properly?

I find that coming into a u-turn, I slow down with the bike upright almost, then its harder to turn cuase cant lean too much when its not going fast enough. If I have to stop midway (becuase of median strip...wait for traffic the other way) then proceed again, I find that its not enough runway to buiild up enough speed going forward before once again leaning to finish off the u-turn.

Curious to hear your tips.

2. select first and maintain speed + throttle, then when you get to where you want to do you u turn use you rear brake to decelerate... maintain the same throttle! this puts your engine under load and helps you to keep control of you bike. Turn you bike you will have to lean in a little bit for a tight radius but with practice you will get it.

It also helps to shift across in your seat to the side your turning in on. Move left going left move right going right... this sets your weight distribution up for a low speed turn....
  3. Obviously 1st make sure theres no traffic coming from behind into on-coming lane your turning in to flow with.
    Look on the other side of road to the point you want to ride to,pick a safe point in the middle of the lane your turning into.
    draw an imaginary arch with your eyesight to that point,taking into account the turning circle of your bike and road conditions obviously
    focus and look at that point,make sure youre speed and gear is right for the turn,obviously being a u-turn its probably going to be 1st,maybe 2nd