Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

How do reduce the road toll, cars and bikes

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by TYRUSS, Mar 2, 2007.

1. Hi everone. I would like your comment on one of two parts to reducing the road toll which I have been selling to friends of mine for many years.

The biggest problem we have at the moment is that the goverment actually believes that the training that most people get to obtain their license is enough to sustain them for the rest of their lives. We all know that this is not true.
    I will give you a dreamed up example (I am going to be sexist so please don't judge this soley on this basis)
    A girl (say 17) who lives with her mum has no interest in driving a car, one day she gets a job which has no access to public transport. So that she can commute to work she has to get a license. She go's to a driving school with the sole aim of getting a drivers license as quickly as possible, which is right or wrong the aim of the driving school. The girl then does her test which she has been trained by the driving school to pass which she does. What on going training does she receive after she has passed he license ? NONE any bad habits that she may have picked up will never be corrected. Because she has no interest in driving in the first place she has no interest in becomeing a better driver !
    How can we correct her behaviour and that of other drivers who have bad habits ?
    I believe Peter Brock had the same idea as I have, and that is a series of comercials 20+ showing people the right and wrong way how to drive some of these things will be very simple but as WE all know it seems to be very hard for your average driver to understand.
    My first suggestions would be the following.