Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

How do I ride my RS???

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by 125rider, Jan 19, 2007.

1. Hey Guys,

Recently bought an Aprillia RS 125 2004 against all the advice and now having a bit of trouble with it...LOL By the way I'm a complete novice when it comes to bikes which makes the decision all the dumber but the bike just looked so awesome I couldn't help it.

I find that once I've been riding for a bit it starts to splutter a bit in the lower gears and eventually starts cutting out on me especially in first, say when I'm rolling up to a red light. I know it's not good to ride around in low revs but just curious what sort of revs I should be riding it with in what gears/speed etc. I mean am I suppose to drive the whole time in and around the power band?

Also I find that in neutral the engine will just die out on me when it's idling if I'm not reving it. This didn't use to happen is this normal? How do I change it?

Any help will be heaps appreciated don't expect the bike to be perfect but just to be able to ride it not always nervous it's going to cut out and leave me pushing it home.

Cheers
    Dave

2. before people go suggesting all sorts of idle mixture and tuning things.......

simple question that made a hell of a lot of difference with an rs250 i rode... you're not riding it 'round with the choke on are you coz they don't like it!!

3. No. Although it's the sort of thing I can see myself doing.

4. hehehe i did it that's why i asked.

5. fouled spark plugs. you need to ride 'em hard or you will foul your plugs.

that or mixture........

6. Hmmm a delicate problem... have you tried kicking it? :LOL: