Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

House hunting

Discussion in 'The Pub' at netrider.net.au started by mr_messy, May 6, 2007.

1. I've been looking from a place to rent and boy it's hard!
    And now it has got me thinking, how about buying a house to live in.

What's involved.
    I'm pretty sure there is a massive amount of information out there. I think I'm just testing the waters buy asking here. Maybe there is too much information and it scares me I don't know.

Can anyone tell me what is involved? In laymans terms or in a way a 10yr old might understand? :grin:

2. +1 on the question. I've decided to buy a place to live in, or rent out if I can't find a place in my area but I have little idea what's involved. Advice would be good, ta. :)

3. I'm no expert, but this is the order I'd recommend based on my own experience. I also thoroughly recommend going through a broker cos they will likely have a network of staff such as conveyancers that they'll get to do the ground work for you during the purchase. I went through Mortgage Choice initially - just be wary of the loan they're pushing and make sure it does/has everything you want.

1. talk to someone about finance - find out what your finance budget is; approval in principal. That doesn't mean what YOUR budget is, but at least what your budget as far as finance is. Always buy within your budget, not what you are approved in principal for.

2. work out YOUR budget - what you can realistically afford to pay back after everything you haven't admitted to the broker :) (this'll mostly be living expense type stuff - gifts, travel, extra money being bled elsewhere - cos otherwise you're breaking the T's and C's of the information you've given to the broker in the first place)