Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Honda Warranty Issue

Discussion in 'Businesses and Service Providers' started by Virtue, Oct 28, 2006.

1. Hi all,

This is a first post to the forum - recently got my license and bought a CBF250.

Took the bike in for its 1000km service on the 14/10 from the dealership i bought it from. We found that one of the front suspension fork seals had split, leaking fluid into the front brake pads.

Only just heard back from the dealership today, that Honda had declined the warranty request, saying they couldn't determine if it was faulty production or just happened on the road.

As I'm new to bikes, I'm not sure if this is normal practice...

Would love to hear your advice.

Oh, and Hi to everyone. Hope to get involved in some of the events/organised rides soon!
  2. Bummer. Don't take that bull. Get mad with them or better still talk your old man to go with you and get mad. It seems like some places try it on with younger customers.

Unless you damaged the fork or took a spanner to it I can't see how they can get away with that. Give the Honda customer relations dude a call first and then talk to consumer affairs if you don't get any joy.

Good luck.

3. Name the dealer
  4. what state are you in, and where did you take it for a repair?
  5. Thanks for the responses so far.

I'm in Sydney, NSW. Bought the bike from Frasers Motorcycles, and took in back there for it's 1000k service.

Frasers contacted Honda regarding the warranty.
  6. Sounds like crap to me. I would ring Honda myself and I am sure they will come to the party.
  7. What other said. I'd just talk to someone as high up in Honda Australia as you can. Forget the dealer plebs........if I ran that business and Honda said that, I'd fix your bike under my own "warranty".