Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Honda VTR250 or Kawasaki GPX250

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by driekus, Aug 17, 2004.

1. Hi
    Im new to riding and am looking at my first bike. I have narrowed it down to the GPX250 or VTR250
    It is a really difficult decision to make since costs are similar and I like the look of both, I like the ride of both bikes. Any suggestions? Iam only going to be in the country for a few more years so am not looking at upgrading to big bike till I move overseas so I am chasing something that will keep me happy. At this stage im also looking at purchasing new, have insurance quotes for $350(VTR) and $440 (GPX) comprehensive.

2. Mate i would think resale on the VTR would make it a better option ,after all it is a (Honda of course) 8)
  3. Hi peter , welcome to the forum . I agree with lodger . go the vtr :D
  4. Yeah it looks like the VTR is starting to win out.
    Another interesting question that I cant find covered elsewhere is how much of a discount would you expect considering Im looking to buy the bike, protective gear and performance exhaust which come to a total of approximately $10500 including rego and stamp duty. This is going by retail price of the protective equiptment, packs, etc. Iam putting a similar package deal to forward to the kawasaki dealership for comparison. If the honda dealer doesnt give me any discount and the kawasaki dealer gives me a substantial discount it would probably shift me to the gpx. Is there a standard amount they have to play with, ie 10%.

5. The best bet is to shop around for prices on the gear - Ask each place "What's the best price you can do on the? (boots/jacket/gloves etc)"