Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Honda VT600 - Project Bobber!

Discussion in 'Modifications and Projects' at netrider.net.au started by Recon, Jan 10, 2012.

1. Hey there all,

Well I took the plunge after spotting the right bike for the right price on ebay!

I am now the proud owner of a 1994 Honda VT600! (my first bike! woohoo!) =D>

photo2.

I will keep you all posted with the progress on the bobber front, and please may i now take this opportunity to beg forgiveness for all the stupid and inane questions I will ask through this project! All help will be much appreciated! As I mentioned in a previous post, I have no mechanical experience and this is gonna be a steep learning curve! 8-[

Well.. here we go!

2. First Question...

Tyres!

Ok so the ride needs a new set of tyres before its up for its roadworthy, before I start to tinker with it (it's been off the road a few years, but it runs great).

So any recommnedations re tyres? I want to save $ where I can, what should I be looking at re cost? The bike I believe takes the following:

Front Tyre size is 100/90 - 19
    Rear Tyre size is 170/80 - 15

Should I just buy a set of Dunlops from a service center, or can I get better/cheaper tyres elsewhere?

I've been quoted around $230 for the rear, and $210 for the front.

I might also see if there are any rims around, particularly for the front, as the spokey look is a little old school for what I have in mind! Any good Rim providers that you would all recommend? Is it worth me scouring around wreckers?

If I do stay with the spoked rims, can I paint them from a can, or should I get them powdercoated to Matt Black?

(see, I promised stupid questions!)

Seriously though, thanks so much, any and all help is much appreciated!