Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Honda VT250 vs. Ducati Monster 400

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by Francisco Perez-Smith, Feb 7, 2011.

1. Hi all :)

I've been browsing your forums for the last few weeks, and I've been really impressed by the wealth of knowledge and experience here. You're definitely the people to help me out.

I have been dirtbiking for 3 years now, and have decided to buy my first street bike. I've narrowed my choices between the "Honda VT250 Spada" and the "Ducati Monster 400".

While raw power and price aren't really issues, I do care about:
    - reliability
    - ease of maintenance / availability of parts
    - ease of riding / height (I am 165cm and 60kg)

The riding will be just to work (on nice, dry days), and for mountain roads on the weekend.

I think that the Ducati's the nicer option, but if you guys think (from your experiences) that I'll drop it at every red light, the Spada might be the better option.

2. Although I love Italian bikes I would have to conceed that at least anecdotally the Honda is more reliable and am certain that the parts are more widely available for the Honda. For that reason I would probably lean towards the spada.

In the end though if the Duc is really what you have your heart set on don't let anyone talk you out of it. I've often been told that Italian bikes are unreliable, costly to service poser bikes etc but I've had 3 Italian bikes without any of these issues and jap bikes that have left me stranded.

Best of luck - let us know what you end up getting