Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Honda VF750s 1982 model

Discussion in 'Bling and Appearance' started by Mrs. Pete, Jan 25, 2009.

1. Hi, noob here. I rode for almost 15 years, started on a sweet little single cylinder LTD250 then had a lovely old XS650 for the rest of it.

Anyway, Mr Pete (bless him) went and got himself two VF750s - one starts, one is in 170 bits - today for $500. It's been sitting idle for 9 years, has 90,000k on it.

It has 750(four) side covers on it which caused some initial confusion, (the bloke who owns is has NO IDEA and was flogging it as a 750/4) neither would pay attention when I pointed out that they didn't have shaft drives, but hey I'm just the girl.

It has some carby issues and a clutch problem (it puts itself into gear when idling) and it's an ugly bloody thing and I hope he(me) gets it going properly and sells it on for something more aesthetically pleasing (and one I can touch the ground on) but in the meantime, so we can get it up and running nicely and sellable, can I please come here and ask insanely stupid technical questions from time to time? :grin:

2. sure, you may even get some sane answers... maybe.
  3. an interesting bike and a challenging project, fixing it may not be too difficult but selling it may be,

is it the Black VF750S from 83 or the later VF750 F (Blue/white/red)

dropping into gear at idle in neutral sounds like a selector drum issue (from memory bottom half of engine to come off for that)

carb drama's most likely diaphragms holed (liquid latex from a hobby/craft shop) or just shite all through them, pull 'em, clean em damn good and reinstall paying attention to condition of rubber parts and sealing.

how many km on the engine and how long since it was run regularly.??