Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Honda Valkyrie - Buying Tips

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by dawg007, Feb 13, 2012.

1. Hi Guys,

I am looking at getting a Honday Valkyrie and would like to know what I should look for when getting one. Are there any common issues? Lot of the ones around have quite a few Ks on them. How much is too much?

2. All I can say is, I envy you buddy, they look sensational, always here how comfy and how much torque they have, google USA sites for Valkyrie info, but have seen them in black, personally I like the yellow scheme but thats me, good luck with the search..
  3. Thanks mate,

they do look nice.
    Also I am a novice rider and curently ride a Honda Magna 250 and a VStar 650. Would it take much to get used to?
  4. They are a huge understressed horizontally opposed engine so stable and solid as a rock. I would say they will run forever so don't be too concerned about kms. They are a very long wheelbase so I would guess punting it around hairpins may take some practice but on the open road they would be very comfortable.
  5. Thanks Mate
  6. Hi Dawg,

I bought a '98 Valkyrie 3 months ago with 33,000 kms on it. My previous rides have been a Honda VF750C V4 cruiser and a Honda CX500.

Make no mistake the Valkyrie is big heavy bike. It weighs around 320kgs so you need to treat it with care and respect otherwise you will drop it.

Having said that, once you get used to it, you just need to be careful with your walking pace manoeuvres and moving it around your workspace.