Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

honda rc51 vtr1000 sp1

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' at netrider.net.au started by BiG DaN91, Nov 7, 2011.

1. anyone here have experience on them? seems like an interesting bike, not the typical inline 4 sportsbike and i love the v twin sound and their looks. the main concerns id have is their performance being outdated, parts might be hard to come by, they run very hot and weighing so much more compared to modern sportsbikes.

im torn on what bike to upgrade to as these seem so damn cool but i dont think itd be very practical to ride everyday and im only a uni student so i cant afford multiple bikes. it might just have to be a dream bike for me to find in the future along with a cbr1000rr repsol.

am i crazy to think about these to commute to uni everyday and ride weekends/possibly trackdays??? my other considerations are a 05-08 gsxr750, daytona 675 but i really need to test ride them all

heres a good thread i found about them being considered as the muscle car of sportsbikes
    http://www.fireblades.org/forums/honda-rc51/80891-rc51-excitement-dying-lets-chat-about.html

so basically what would u choose out of these -
    05 repsol
    http://www.bikepoint.com.au/all-bik...480 1554 82 4294962458 504 1625 1582&__Nne=15

2001 vtr1000 sp1
    http://www.bikepoint.com.au/all-bik...480 1554 82 4294962458 504 1625 1582&__Nne=15

07 gsxr750

05 gsxr750

07 daytona 675

06 daytona 675

2. Get the VTR.
    If I didn't commute 37k's each way every day (may go back to 50 each way soon) I would get one.
    I had it's softer brother, the firestorm and would KILL for the SP.

They're built excellently, sound insane, and they aren't just another screaming 4pot.

3. SP1 FTW.