Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Honda GB500 tourist trophy

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' at netrider.net.au started by Pikey, Nov 12, 2008.

1. Hi all,
    I'm new to motorbikes, and have just got my L's. I am currently looking at a '89 Honda GB500 tt. 4k on the clock, immaculate condition, from Japan, from a reputable sydney shop. HOWEVER....it is a deep red murone colour and doesn't have the faired single seat, Every picture/literature i have seen on the web has stated that the bike came in Black or Green and all the pics i have seen have inclued the single faired seat, does this mean the bike is not an original TT?

2. If you're getting it from Scotts, I believe they have a whole bunch of parts that they can swap around between bikes, so ask them about it. Chances are it's just been changed in order to cafe racerify up the bike more - ask them and they might be able to change it back.

With the colour, afaik it's very common for imports to be resprayed, because there aren't a lot of garages in Japan and the paint tends to get ruined.

Basically, I imagine it's genuine.

3. No motorbike dealers are reputable. Some are less dodgy than others, but no-one is above suspicion!

Doesn't sound right to me. Did some quick googling and... hmmm. Dodge City.

4. The GB 500tt certainly comes in maroon. I know, because I owned one. The seats are interchangeable between the 400 & 500 as far as I am aware.

5. Roarin - Thanks for confirming it is a factory colour

Schwer - Yeah it is from Scotts.

Quarterwit - Point taken!