Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Honda CBR600RR or Triumph Street Triple

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by dan_g, Feb 10, 2009.

1. Hi. I've been riding for about 2 years on a Honda CBR250RR and I feel the urge to upgrade. I use the CBR250RR to commute to work, and it works well. Its light and quick enough to overtake crawling cars. But now I want something modern with more power.

I was convinced that the CBR600RR was the bike for me, but now I'm undecided because I recently discovered the Triumph Street Triple. I've read the reviews, and the Triple seems like the perfect bike for every day use.

In Jan/09 issue of BIKE magazine they compared the latest R6 with the Street Triple. Quote "At 8000rpm and 40% throttle it makes almost twice the power of the Yamaha, and with shorter gear ratios and a little less weight the triple has an instant edge. The R6 needs a lower gear and more aggressive throttle wrenching for the same result."
    The triple is also quicker from 0-60mph, and 40-120mph in top gear compared to the R6.

Please help me decide. A guy that had been fixated on one bike.

Please discuss.
  2. Comparing the power for a given throttle is a pointless exercise because it is largely arbitrary. You can get aftermarket throttles which require a smaller turn. Also the triumph has ~12% more capacity than the R6, so I would certainly expect it to pull harder. Comparing the R6 to the Triple is a little silly. The R6 is a bike that is known for being very highly tuned, so I would expect to have to rev it.

Anyway try riding all the bikes you would consider. If you feel the 600's are short on midrange, give the GSXR750 a whirl.

What are you after. A bike with a strong midrange pull, or a supersports redline machine?