Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

home maintainence

Discussion in 'The Pub' started by Garfield, Jun 4, 2010.

1. I am a bit new to this game, but have to do things myself, in the most economical way possible.
    Have decided to tackle one thing at a time. and would appreciate advice if there is a better/easier/cheaper way on each task.
    The first is the garage roller door. The other night I opened it to put out the garbage bins. It went up, but would not go down. The next door neighbour and I tried everything to get it down, then tried phone a friend etc, all no good. The garage opens directly into the house and where I live, security is a bit of a concern.
    So at some huge outrageous cost of hundreds & hundreds of dollars, an out of hours roller door mechanic came and finally got the roller door down.
    He gave me a big lecture about how stupid it was to spray Wd40 on all of the parts, said that was the cause of the problem, showed me the build up and said you have to remove it .
    This is what I am going to try and do tomorrow ( there is a lot of build up of the grime and it has attracted dirt and other inner city slime,to remove) What is the best way ?
    I have some Karcher, non corrosive degreaser. Will that work? Petrol?

2. Well, I've never fixed a garage door before, but I would stay away from petrol for this!

Degreaser from supercheap auto will do the job, you can get it spray cans or in bulk, that & a heap of raps will do the job.

What did the guy recommend to lubricate the door with?
  3. Well he did not recommend anythihg, but in the course of the day, I spoke to a good friend, who was after a favour, and in return, I asked this question.