Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Holy crap this is fun!

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Gobberwart, Sep 9, 2012.

1. Got my L's a couple of weeks ago, and picked up my bike yesterday (Yamaha VStar 650 - pics elsewhere on here). Couldn't ride yesterday other than bringing it home from the dealer. 10km trip and I was too nervous to really enjoy it. Today though, I had a couple of hours free so thought I'd go for a few laps of the block and start to get the hang of it. Slow speed stuff, no main roads, just practicing because I'm a total noob and my only road bike experience was my learner's course.

So, three hours and 80km later and I had to reluctantly park it again because of family commitments, but I'm itching to get out there again.

I know 80km in 3 hours doesn't sound like much, but considering I spent the first hour just practicing in back streets before venturing out onto the main roads (you know, like I said I wasn't going to do) and then back into the back streets again, it's way more than I expected. I kept going past the house planning to pull in, then going "nahh, just a few more minutes" and buggering off again.

LOL, I just had to share that :)
    • Like Like x 9
  2. Good on ya Gobbers, addictive isn't it?
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Excellent work - keep at it, keep enjoying it :)
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Yep, it is. I'm like a kid again.... "Come on dad, just five more minutes, pleeeeeeease!"

I decided to have a beer now. 0 BAC will make sure I don't desert the family for the rest of the arvo LOL