Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Girl81, Aug 20, 2006.

1. Hi guys,

Hope everyone is having great wknd - the weather is fantastic for riding. Unfortunately I'm on night shift all wknd so my bike will stay in the garage.

My reason for posting is I'm looking for help. I find it a daunting to take off from a stop on a hill, especially when wanting to turn at the same time. :oops: I have no idea why? maybe because I'm only very new to riding, i'm letting nerves take over and I just need more time on the bike, (everyday off i've done at least 120km - can't get enough of it).

Any suggestions would be wonderful :grin:
  2. Giving it enough throttle - a bit more than on the flat - and feathering the clutch a bit (i.e. letting it out a bit more slowly and being willing to let it slip a bit) is helpful in getting started. If you have some space (just a couple of metres), probably better to get a little bit of forward momentum before turning into the corner, rather than trying to do both things at once.

But definitely it's about the practice - come out for a ride with us!
  3. remember unlike cars, bikes have a wet clutch, so you can ride the clutch. so just give some rev's and let the clutch out slowly, she'll start to grip and slowly let ur foot off the back brake and away she goes, :)
  4. What he said. Give yourself a few metres when you pull up, so you can concentrate on getting moving, then start your turn.