Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

High Speed Issue

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Hyphen, Oct 15, 2007.

1. its probably a really dumb question, but Im new to riding and I find that when I get above 80kph it feels like my head is lifting off LOL especially around the 110kph speed limit on WA roads.

Sometimes it does get quite uncomfortable as it really puts pressure on my neck and shoulders. Does anyone else experience this or is it just me? Any suggestions or tips would be sweet!

I love the long trips but hesitant to let my VTR loose! :LOL: :LOL:
  2. Do you have a screen on the vtr or none?

I've got a completely naked vtr and it does get a bit "windy" at high speeds. You can just try to tuck into the bike a bit more and try and tilt your head downwards a bit (while still seeing the road) so the wind isn't trying to force it off.

Either that or get one of these for wind free travelling :driver:
  3. Step 1. Put on motocross helmet.
    Step 2. Go for a highway run at 150+
    Step 3. Go back to your road helmet and realise you were whining about nothing. :LOL:

Seriously though, just tilt your head forward a little and maybe even pull your helmet down at the front a bit, but not so it's on incorrectly. Gets rid of the lift a bit.
  4. I actually did something like this. I was off the bike for about a month and when I got back on it, highway speeds felt FAST! So, I found a straight stretch, wound the girl out, then backed off to 100 and it felt nice and SLOW again! :wink:

I think different helmets have a lot to do with the "pulling your head off" feeling. Mine gets that way if I don't tuck at big speeds.