Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

High Beam during the day for safety???

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Classic Cruiser, May 4, 2007.

1. I'm new to the world on two wheels & i have just recently started using my high beam during the day due to alot of blind motorists pulling out in front of me. I ride a Yamaha XVS650A and the high beam isn't that bright so i thought i'd trial it for a couple of days.

I have noticed alot of change in driver behaviour, I haven't received any flashes or pissed off driver reactions yet, but i don't really care if it pisses people off , at least they see me. Being more visible is more important to me instead of being splattered across someones windscreen & their feelings.

The high beam in the daytime doesn't have the blinding light or glare it does in the dark hours. I'm just wondering what other people think about this & do you practice this.

Thanks for looking. :grin:
  2. Yep on a very bright day I use the high beam, lots of reflection and glare around and most cagers won’t see you standing out, if overcast there isn’t much of a need as the headlight on dip is ok.
    Another tip is to travel in the most centre part of a road, you are visible much earlier for those wanker cagers coming into the road from side streets, I don’t like keeping left on a road.
  3. I try to move around in my lane a bit (makes me look drunk :LOL: ) as movement catches peoples eyes more than a static object. I use my high beam during the day and at night on suburban streets - makes you more visible to people pulling out of side streets.