Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by Becka8, Jan 20, 2012.

1. Hi guys. I'm new to Netrider and just got my L's. Looking for my first bike. Any suggestions for a female rider?

2. Hi Becka, welcome to NR. As for a first bike, best thing is to sit on as many different ones as you can, they are all different, one will stand out above the rest. The first bike I ever rode was a Honda Rebel and my first bike was a Virago 250 (now VStar 250), both of them were easy to ride with a low centre of gravity, great learner bikes. Also Suzuki Intruder, and Kawasaki Eliminator are worth looking at too. Enjoy!
  3. Welcome to NR, like was said it's best to actually go and sit on as many bikes as you can. I started on a CBR125R and Ninja 250R, worth checking out if you haven't already.
  4. Howdy Becka and welcome to these parts. As other posters have already mentioned, the best way to find your baby is by "sit and error" to find out what riding position you feel most comfortable in.

How tall are you? Do you have a preference for a naked or a faired bike? What's your budget? I started out on a Kawasaki ZXR250A (Zx2r) - I'm a 167cm chick and for me as a Learner with no experience of ever being on a bike, it helped with getting my confidence etc. that I was able to get both feet on the ground. And my neighbour happend to be selling one for $3K, so it was fate! :)

Otherwise, if you prefer a naked with a more upright riding position, I've only heard good things about the Honda VTR250 from female riders (a couple who were shorter and more petite than me too).