Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Hi, very newbie rider here :)

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Samantha, May 19, 2006.

1. Yes, so newbie that i've yet to ride anything :eek:

I'm a 17 year old (female) interested in motorbikes and riding and trying to get into it all. Only 2 days ago i went a checked out the bikes at the Causeway Dealerships (I live in Perth :) ) only to be pretty much laughed at and told my best bet was the Kawasaki GPX250R (I'm 156cm tall and very slight build) and that that bike is the smallest and best learners bike I will find.
    I had a look and I don't think I'd be too comfortable having that bike as my first bike.

Anyway, what I was getting at is that I have very little knowledge of bikes, I don't know anyone that owns or rides a motorbike and I was wondering if I could make some friends or aquire some mentors here and maybe some information in the process :wink:

The very least you can tell me is that the guy at the Causeway shops was right and I'll resign myself to waiting a few more years or maybe buying one of those new Sachs 50cc bikes and just playing around :)

Phew, thats all :p
  2. If you are only a small person, I'd go for one of the mini cruisers. They have low seats, usually geared to cruise around, so not too hard to get moving. We had a small Honda Shadow I think it was at my learner's course, and I gould put my feet on the ground with my knees at 45 degrees, so even teh shortest person would be good on one.
    They also have the advantage of being a nice upright seating position and therefore a lot easier to ride.

Regards, Andrew.
  3. Oh I am :cool:
    although I get the feeling many of the members here are in the 20+ age group? :p bit inappropriate :wink: