Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Hi Guys .... I'm New to bikes ... suggestions will be great

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by gugux, Jul 5, 2007.

1. Hi guys,

I getting my L's pretty soon. and I'm allready looking for a bike....

I'm wondering what its the average kilometer for a motorcyles in a year ?
    would anyone know ...

bikes I'm thinkin of buying :
    Yamah FZR250 compliance 05 1989
    Suzuki Bandit 1993 ( I think this is grey import)
    Honda VTR250 or VT250

can you please make suggestion about those bikes? or maybe give me some suggestion of other bikes 4 strokes 250cc ?

hope haering from you guys .... thanks alot ...

2. Welcome gugux,

I'd go the VTR, personally I wouldn't touch a grey import for many reasons, first being the over pricing of what is essentially a 20yo bike for starters.

What's your price range?? Sub $5k or $5-10k??
  3. It would help if you put your location. As NSW have LAMS, you might not be restricted to <260cc like Vic.

I have a VTR250 and highly recommend them. Great bike to learn on.
  4. Hi Smithy,

is grey import will be hard to re-sell ?

my price probs about 1000 - 3000 AUS.

do you know the average kilo for a motorcycle in a year ?
  5. ehh dont listen to them bikes that u mentioned like spada(that is the VT isnt it) and FZR resell easily and parts are plentifull from wreckers. However they are overpriced (FZR CBR ect) as they are the faster 250 varienty.

Avg kilometeres doesnt mean much at all, unless its got heaps 50-60thousand plus. by then its starts wanting top end work.
  6. Re: Hi Guys .... I'm New to bikes ... suggestions will be gr