Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Hi Guys I am new to road bikes

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by Bandit, Dec 11, 2015.

1. Hi guys,
    I am new to road bikes & would like your recommendations
    Basically I have bought a gsf250, helmet & gloves to start

Is there anything which is must before I jump on to the bike?
  2. Welcome mate!

Definitely add a jacket to that gear collection, the bitumen is a harsh mistress!
  3. uh get a licence???? LOL

As above get some good gear, don't skimp on quality if you can afford it.

If you can add some good quality kevlar or similar jeans (generaly cheaper than leather) there is a huge difference in the protective qualities of plain old jeans and a pair of rated motorcycle jeans. Good quality boots are a must, make sure if you get shorties they have ankle protection......
    • Agree Agree x 2
  4. Thank You.
  5. Thank You that was helpful
  6. Welcome aboard :) check out places like AMX and Bikers Gear Australia (BGA) for the jackets.

I bought two jackets from BGA one leather one meshtech summer jacket both great.

The leather is still going strong after an off at 40 odd Ks
  7. pfffffffffffftttt,
    We don't have time for your RULES here lol!
    • Funny Funny x 2
  8. Welcome to NR from Adelaide
  9. sure i will buy
  10. Hi all,
    When you say a jacket, does it mean a leather jacket specifically or anything that protects like
    "Outdoor Racing Motorcycle Full Body Armor Chest Protective Jacket Gear" which I searched & found on eBay
  11. BanditBandit have a look at AMX in Tullamarine. They have a good selection of gear and aren't too hard on the wallet.

Good starter gear to be found there.

As for the jacket style, that comes down to what you like.