Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Hi, from newbie in Gold Coast

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by BlueMonkey, Apr 17, 2012.

1. Hi,

I would like to say hello to everyone here on Netrider. I'm a newbie in the motorcycle world. I've just got my RE learner licence and planning to go through Q-ride and get my licence to ride. Good idea? I found a couple of places in Nerang doing the Q-ride courses. Any suggestion?

Motorcycling is not going to be my main mode of transport, but I like the idea of going for a relaxing ride over the weekend-- early morning on rather quiet roads up the mountains for example. :)

I would like some advice on my first bike please.

I am 185cm tall and weighs 80kg. My budget is $4000 for a second hand bike. I do have an old lower back injury from playing soccer and it plays up whenever I sit down for too long or in a wrong way. As mentioned above I like to ride short, relaxing trips and certainly not an aggressive rider by miles.

I do like the looks of sports bike but the riding position might not suit my back. I think the upright position of riding a cruiser might be suitable?

I've done a bit of look-around and the Suzuki Intruder 250LC, Hyosung GV250 Aquila EFi and Honda VT250C caught my eyes (I saw these options from another thread here on Netrider). Any suggestions will be much appreciated.

Thanks once again and wish everyone happy riding and have a good day.
  2. Welcome!

Did you look at Suzuki GSX650F LAMS version? With your hight it should be fairly easy to ride, has upright position and goes well. I didn't look but you might be able to find one close to your budget.
  3. I'm thinking that if you're not commuting, where running cost can be important, go for something bigger than 250.