Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Hi from a classic enthusiast

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by scott.v, Apr 3, 2008.

1. G'day guys. I got my learners last december at HART in Kilsyth but haven't got on the road yet. I've got a 1973 Honda CB200 that I'm turning into a cafe racer..... slowly. Nothing too radical, solo seat, homemade rearsets, clipons (they're too big so I've made some adaptor sleeves) and a decent clean and polish. I'm an apprentice fitter and turner which has come in handy so far. Look forward to learning some stuff from the forum and eventually getting the bike out to some NR meetings.

Cheers, Scott

2. Welcome Scott,
    sounds like a unique machine you're going to have there!
    I love the cafe racer look - I'll be waiting to see yours.
  3. Welcome to netrider

Hope to see some pics, had an orange one with front drum brake as my first bike. I too tried to turn it into a Cafe Racer and changed handlebars and then realised I was colourblind :oops:
  4. Welcome Aboard Scott !!!
  5. :LOL: @ Toecutter!!!

So, an apprentice fitter and turner, eh?? You might find yourself with plenty of work on other people's bikes as well, here at Netrider :).

Welcome to the madhouse anyway!
  6. Thanks guys. Yeah I'm not really one for following the crowd.

Toecutter, your bike sounds like what I've got, orange(ish red) with drum brake. I like the factory colour scheme of black, orange and white pinstriping so I'm keeping the tank as is (although a little ratty) and painting side covers and seat to match.

I've got one hell of a before photo, but I'll wait until I've made some more progress to put any up. I probably don't have enough posts anyway.

Hornet, I don't mind doing foreigners, but only after my bike is finished :grin: :LOL: