Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Hi Everyone,

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by Cher, Apr 18, 2015.

1. I am new to riding have always wanted to but life gets in the way. Now a middle aged female it gets to be my turn. Everyone tells me its a mid life crisis but its only now I have the time and money ( and if it is ....who cares?) I have been reading the advice and forums for a bit but thought I would keep quiet and acquire some knowledge first. Thank you to everyone who takes the time to explain techniques (such as cornering) in simple terms. I need all the help I can get.

• Like Like x 6
    • Agree Agree x 1
  2. Thanks Womble for your reply. I am in Yarra Ranges and have seen NR a few times. Have thought about a mentor/tutor but just not sure ( they would need a lot of patience). I am happy to sit on speed limit up to about 80km after that I am a bit nervy.
  3. Most mentoring takes place at much lower speeds and focuses on low speed bike control and basic positioning of you and your bike.
  4. That sounds perferct, I will have to work up courage to ask about it.
  5. Hi Cher,
    Whereabouts are you based ?
  6. Welcome to NR..

No such thing as mid-life crisis. ;)

Have you got your licence sorted out? Or a bike.
  7. Hi, I am in Mt. Evelyn.

8. Thats what I keep telling everyone.

I got my full licence in September and have a Virago 250. I have seen in some threads that NR's are not too impressed with this bike as its weak but I thought it was good to start off with. I will update as I improve.
  9. welcome aboard :] nothing wrong with the mighty 250 virago enjoy it learn on it trade it when your ready :]
  10. Thanks, for the encouragement.
  11. :) no problems I've had my 250 cruiser for 3years. Change when you're ready :D