Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Hi everyone, another new rider, another new member

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' at netrider.net.au started by Alex P, Sep 17, 2007.

1. Hi everyone, just wanted to do a quick introduction and to let everyone know what a great resource netrider is.

Although i've only just joined after purchasing a 1996 Honda Hornet 250cc, i've been visiting the site for ages regarding the forums etc and it's been great to get 'real' people's opinions and thoughts.

Thanks again and keep up the great work everyone.

2. Hi there buddy I'm a Newbie myself - still minus the bike & L's though.

We have come to the right place. All warm, supportive, non-judgemental, funny & down to earth. (Gee I am excited) LOL

Have fun with your new ride. Above all enjoy & stay safe.

Cheers

3. Woo-hoo, ANOTHER Horneteer, welcome, Alex :).

And I'm sure you'll get your kicks here :wink:.

4. Thanks Route66 and Hornet600! Yeah am really enjoying the 250cc hornet. Is significantly faster than i thought it would be, even with my bulky 115 kg on it. Hornet600 you may be able to give me some insight into this, the 250cc is obviously a screamer, which is quite foreign to me. I've always driven big V8's, 4WD's etc and am used to low revs and large amounts of torque. I feel like i'm killing the bike, as it's at around 8000rpm at 100km and it seems happy only once above around 5000rpm. What's your 600 revving like at 100km/h?

5. My 600 revs at around 5,000 at 100kph in top.

But you should hear it at 10,000 in the intermediates pulling away from the Robertson Pie Shop!!!

You need to change your car-orientated thinking when it comes to bikes; they are designed to REV!!!!!!!!! At 8,000 rpm you've still got around 5,000 before you hit the redline!