Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Hi , Everybody!

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by dumpthedummy, Jan 13, 2014.

1. Hey guys (and girls)

I'm a recent high school graduate and along the journey of figuring out who I am and all the typical teenage/student decisions, my brother and I have decided to get into riding. Mainly for a brotherly bonding thing, but also since most riders seem so relaxed and free on the road - something that we would love to take part in.

Seeing as I've had no experience with motorbikes (riding a scooter in Vietnam doesn't really count), I'm a newbie to the riding scene so any advice would be greatly appreciated. Any guys willing to point me towards a good direction towards a LAMS bike and even better, riding gear would be much loved.

My brother has already decided on a Kawasaki ER6N-L and will purchase one sometime this year, he still hasn't completely nailed down all his gear yet.

I, on the other hand, have no set plans as of yet. The only things I'm keeping in mind is that I will first of all have to save up the $5-$6 grand in order to actually start riding (high school graduate means no income as of yet) but I'm getting a vibe that the Suzuki GS500 is a good budget learners bike. As well as this I was contemplating getting a Bell RS-1 due to the full face style and kevlar/fibreglass material used - I value my head and I think $300-$400 sounds about the right price.

Getting excited about joining this new community of riding and if anybody has any suggestions/advice to a complete novice, I would greatly appreciate it

(And yes, that was a Dr Nick reference.)