Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Hi All

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by Arrack, Oct 28, 2011.

1. Hi Everyone,

So I have been browsing netrider for a few months now. I have to say, it is such a friendly and helping community, and the information here, specially for noobs to learn is fantastic. (y)

Having been on a fair few performance car forums and I find NR to be a totally different experience.

Last May, due to not wanting to pay for parking fees and the long line of traffic from home to work every morning, I decided to buy myself a bike.

Google got me on to netrider.

I have had minimal experience with bikes.

So I started reading all the noob hints and tips section of this forum, how to take corners etc, to get the basic idea about what people have done and experienced.

Got through my L’s course at St Ives.

Didn’t ride to work much during my 3 months on L’s. Found it really hard getting used to the lifestyle. So just to get practice, I took it around the neighbourhood to understand the basics of cornering, breaking and slow speed riding after reading the noob tips on the forum numerous times and visualising them.

I m on the taller side, so GS500F was the only option I had when choosing a used bike. I still found that quite hard at the beginning, leg cramps, hard seat, butt cheeks going numb, changing gears properly, being in the right gear in corners, screaming around corners when they feel too fast :eek:hno: etc.

As soon as 3 months came by, I went for my P’s which was an awesome day out in St Ives

Since then, I have been commuting to work on most non rainy days. I m not ready to take on the rain yet.

The bike is a 09 model previously owned by a guy who kept it immaculate condition.