Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Hi all Newbie here.....

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by Adrian Lewer, Sep 3, 2008.

1. Hi everyone my name is adrian and i am from Melbourne. i have been contemplating a motorcycle for many years now as my brother rides motox and is always saying "come on not that hard" so i use to ride his KTM around the paddock only in 2nd gear (was scared shitless to go any harder) and have him catch me at the end (i am short).... any way many years have passed and i walked into a motorcycle shop the other day and was chatting to the sales rep and was complaining that my brothers KTM was a lethal killing machine and he laughed. he suggested a 4 Stroke to calm the snappy throttle and i started thinking.... so with info in hand i went to my local and done a 1 day course for my learners and passed.

Well 2 days latter i had a tax return in the mail which ment i had the cash for my first bike. i have always believed in buying new gear wether it be cars, house ect so was thinking it was all over for me..... but i came across the Honda CBR125 and loved it the moment i saw it. 4 Stroke, Liquid cooled, Fuel injection, My height LOL..., and the price was unbelievable. so after spending 2 days in the shop i had a brand new bike and gear to suit........

upon picking the bike up i thought to myself what a day... rain, hail, wind..... so i drove her home in the most careful way i could avoiding any speed limits above 70Kmh my brother made me aware of a coating on the tyres and said take it slow like you are on ice for the first 200kms which i did. got home drowned, freezing and still got the cold but i am as happy as larry....