Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Hi all, new Ducati rider in brisbane

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' at netrider.net.au started by kezza29, Jul 5, 2013.

1. Hey guys,

Just thought I'd introduce myself. I'm 24, I work as a structural drafter & study engineering part time. I recently got into riding after spending far too much money on my previous cars [Subaru RS Liberty & 2005 WRX STi]. Thrill factor is definately there, even more so with a bike though!

After selling my STi in March, I ended up buying a 2012 Ninja 250 in black, mint condition with 1500kms on it. Everything was tight, couldn't fault it (except for ergonomics). I have travelled about 4000kms in the past couple of months and decided to upgrade/trade in for a Ducati Monster 659.

Beautiful bike but definately a bit different to adjust to handling wise, the extra power is amazing and it feels so well grounded on the highway with the additional weight.

I also went and did an advanced riding course a little while ago, this has changed my riding style fundamentally (namely bad habits I picked up from teaching myself).

Cheers,
    Kieran.

2. G'day, nice bike the little Monster.

3. Welcome to NR.

Nice bike there. :)

4. Thanks guys. Yep she's a good one!

5. Hi Kezz, I just bought one a month ago from Brissie too. I got mine from Brisbane motorcycles with the corse kit. I have to wait till I'm off my restriction before I put a Termi kit on it sounds like the earth is opening up. The riding position is very different but adjustable with new bars or risers. I found that the factory mirrors are downright sh1tty and that was the first thing I changed. I love mine sometimes I go into the garage just to look at it, it is a beautiful bike.