Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Hi all from another newby, Chrissy McD

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by Chrissy McD, Mar 27, 2015.

1. 'Morning All - thought it about time I joined up! I've been riding for about 28 years (that's about 13 years less than I've been driving a car, so that makes me an old fart I guess). I decided to finally follow my heart and get my motorcycle licence at the ripe old age of 31, attending a Qld Road Safety Council beginners course, leaving my four young kids and somewhat bewildered husband at home. I progressed from a very pedestrian Yamaha SR185 single, to a Yamaha XV535 to my current Kawasaki VN800 which I've owned since 1999 and purchased with only 800km on the clock and now has close to 150,000km. My God, that thing has never missed a beat or had a serious breakdown in all that time and now I just can't part with her even though I can afford to (and probably should!). I spent 14 years commuting to and from work every day in all weathers and after the kids were old enough (husband #1 divorced many years ago....probably didn't like the bike!), I used my bike for long holiday tours interstate from Brisbane on my own. They were great times and now my second husband and I travel together on our bikes. One trip I did just over 13,000km in 28 days on my own and it was one of the best times I ever had. I never made any plans and just pointed the bike somewhere each morning without knowing where I'd be resting my tired head that night. I loved that feeling then, and I still do, although husband #2 is a bit scandalised at the thought of my going anywhere without him! Although I've still got my Kawasaki, I've just recently ditched my day job, cashed in my super and bought myself a Boom Mustang Thunderbird ST1 trike and sta