Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Hi All, from a complete beginner

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' at netrider.net.au started by Max66, Aug 12, 2015.

1. Hi all
    I'm going to do my pre learners course soon, and really looking forward to getting on a bike of my own, I'm a complete beginner and to begin with it will be a Sunday ride thing for me, but I'm reading and watching everything I can get a hold of and came across this site and it looks full of information, thanks for any input for bike choice, but I like Dakar type bikes but am all ears from the more experienced guys and girls, but an idea on a good learns type road bike would be great.
    Thanks All

2. Welcome Max66, I am sure people will be along soon to push their particular favourite bikes. It sounds like you want something that is road and dirt capable. Have you got your riding gear? You will need to budget for that. New or Second Hand? What sort of budget do you have?

3. Welcome to netrider. Riding is something that once it gets you you'll never look back.
    This site is certainly full of useful advice and has a treasure test of information useful for a new rider.

The best learner bike is one that you feel comfortable on, if it's too heavy or too tall you're not going to feel confident or safe on the bike. My advice would be to go to your local bike store and sit on every LAMS bike and short list a few that suite your posture.

Dirt bikes may not be the best bike to start on if you're just going to be riding on the road, they tend to be very tall and aren't as forgiving.
    I'd try out the following bikes at a minimum
    -DRZ400 (dirt bike, cult following, almost indestructible)
    -KLE 400/500
    -Kawasaki zzr250, gpx250 (mostly the same bike)
    -Kawasaki Ninja 300