Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Hey, I'm a complete and utter newbie

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by YAL14H, Nov 16, 2005.

1. Hey guys,

my names Tom, i'm 17, from sydneys northern beaches, and I'm just getting into bikes.

In all honesty I know next to fcuk-all about bikes, and realistically it's gonna be a few years before I'm riding, but I joined because I want to learn as much as I can before it's time to actually buy a bike and start riding.

Anyway, I'm just warning you that I may ask some extremely obvious questions in the near future, but hey, you gotta start somewhere.

See you at the motorcycle show this weekend!
  2. Hey dude, welcome :D

How come you reckon its gonna be a few years before your riding?
  3. Hey YAL14H, welcome to the place where obvious questions are welcome, and so are the people that ask them. If you can't find the answers here, the question hasn't been invented yet.

If you have a specific question, use the 'search' link above, you may find a thread about it already!!
  4. Welcome Tom! There are a lot of people on this forum that really know their sh!t, so you've picked a good place to hang around and learn from.

5. Welcome Tom.
    Stay safe and have fun

6. Thanks guys.

It's gonna be a few years before I can ride because my car takes up more money than I earn right now (I'm a student). So in a few years when I have a full time job, saving up for a bike will be the first thing I do.

I'd also just like to add that I'm a part of various car forums (commodores, rotaries, 4s etc), and even though I've only been browsing this site for a few days, it seems like a much, much more accepting and friendly community. You guys are tops!