Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by Senator17, Jun 22, 2015.

1. Just wondering if anyone has had an Inguinal Hernia, had it repaired and how long they were off the bike recovering before they started riding again and what type of bike (So I know what seat height you were riding).

2. Had a hernia operation around 14 years ago..... re occurred and needed fixing a couple of years later, this was well before I started riding, my only advice is to take it easy post op and follow the surgeons advice....
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. I had one, had it fixed and then didn't rest as ordered by the doctor , I started doing a few chores around the house instead. 2 days after the surgery I was back in hospital with torn muscles and bleeding. BIG mistake, I've never been on so much pain. I'd say leave it for at least a month, only because it's not worth risking complications like I had. Ask the Doc to be sure though.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. I had two as well. I firmly believe they are caused by smoking. If you smoke and don't want another one, stop!
  5. Ask your surgeon & do what they say ;). Recovery times for laparoscopic procedures are usually faster, but I'd expect at least 4-6 weeks.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  6. Been there done that :-(
    Right Inguinal, repaired with gauze and staples, when I asked the surgeon how long before I could ride "the bike" she said "pushbike" after I stopped laughing I said NO MOTORBIKE. The answer was 6 months :bigtears:.
    Evidentally it's 6 months to 90% healed and another 6 to close enough to 100%.
    I did Ride my 1978 Duc 900 after 5 months though :greedy: as we'd bought a house and were moving, and NO-ONE else rides my bike ;-).