Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Help with Changing Sprockets-Chain and Service

Discussion in 'Maintenance and Servicing' started by gs250rr, Feb 24, 2013.

1. hello forum

I need to change the sprocket-chain and service the bike (CBR250RR) and I am thinking of doing it myself but I need someone knowledgeable to help me out since I have never done this before (been riding 3 months).

So far I understand -
    1) Get the sprockets and chain - I called MCAS and they are selling -
    front sprocket $50
    rear sprocket $56
    XSO-RK chain (136) $130

2) Get the engine oil, oil and air filter from Ross at Gulf Western.

Show stoppers so far -

1) I need a fellow NSWRider/NetRider to come along and show me how it's done - case of beer or the price of it shall certainly be my pleasure. Please let me know if someone is available.

2) I would need to be able to have the tools - i.e; bike stand to raise the rear tyre and generally I am not very handy so a toolkit will be needed too. How much do these cost?

* Google tells me that I should have a chain breaker and press-fit tool before I start.

* MCAS sell a kit that should solve the purpose of cutting/pressing the chain for $60.
    I would still need a stand to mount the rear tyre.

3) and finally, Scarborough hotel ride is coming up on Saturay 16th MAR so I really hope I can get this sorted by weekend of 2-3 MAR or 9-10 MAR.

I am in Castle Hill, NSW

2. do a search on youtube. On my bike it shows how to change front sprocket and chain.
  3. I did by myself at home in like 2 to 3 hours. isn't that hard. If you have all the parts and tools and free time to do it will be cheaper than paying someone.

Like uncosnail said, check on youtube for tutorial of How to replace a motorcycle chain.