Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

HELP! With baffle!

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by lowercase, Nov 21, 2010.

1. Hey guys,

I've got a beautiful Triumph, if you didn't know, only had it a few months, and want to get new rego and transfer from NSW to QLD stuffs tomorrow.

Anyways, the pipe is VERY loud. If I get into trouble and they want me to fix it... how do I make a baffle and then put one in?

Keeping in mind I'm not that good with these things and don't know anyone in the area... worse comes to worse I'll have to go 1.5 hours away to a motorbike shop to get them to help out and pay them money that I earnt :(

I've been looking for vids, but all I could find (on google or youtube) was how to make it louder, rather than quieter. And the stuff that was to make it quieter said I needed a motorcycle baffle... but I heard there was an easier way?

Please help

lots of love
    hols xx
  2. I jammed some steel wool into a pipe one day to get through the RWC (Was a CBR250).That definitely made the pipe alot quieter.
    Stupid question, but I'm guessing the pipe on your bike isn't stock?
  3. I take it you only have to go to an autherized inspection station. Most won't even check the noise of it. Doubt he would have a meter to do it anyway.
    Fliud leaks, tires, rotor thickness. Brakes and all electrical stuff will be checked.
    You may just get away with it I think. I would give it a go and see what happens.
  4. I'm not going to an inspection station. Cause the closest inspection place is more than 50k's away, I just go to QLD transport. I'm just worried they'll come outside (in what will most likely be rain... or hear me arrive) and check it anyways.

Correct - not a stock pipe - I bought it like that.