Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Help! Someone hit my parked bike!

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by Cowboy Mac, Feb 14, 2011.

1. Hi all,

I had my bike parked on the side of the road (ZZR-250) and someone reversed into it. There looks to be minor cosmetic damage on the fairings, the side mirror is scratched, and the handlebar ends are also scratched. I have it insured through InsureMyRide for ~5k.

This isn't the worst thing in the world, but as soon as I started riding it the steering seemed very odd. I suspect the balance has been screwed up and I will ride it properly tomorrow to test it, but it isn't great to ride now.

The plus side is the person who hit it left a note, and when I called they were very apologetic. I let them know about the steering and said I would test the bike and call them tomorrow.

My question is, if the steering has been screwed up, what is the cost likely to be? Is the repair a wheel balance and straightening the steering or replacing it all? Is it possible the repairs could write off the bike? Is there anything I should watch out for in this situation?

Thanks all!
  2. It's possible that the forks might be out of alignment or bent.

If the forks are bent it may be a write off.
  3. Probs just twisted the forks

Easy to do, very common on a small drop. And very easy to fix with help from a friend.