Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Help on buying 2nd hand Honda NSR150SP

Discussion in 'Bling and Appearance' at netrider.net.au started by kurichigo, Jun 21, 2008.

1. Im a beginner motorcyclist and Im looking to buy a 2nd hand NSR150SP. IV been looking around the forums to find out what things to look out for when buying a 2nd hand bike. Find most of it a bit confusing for someone like me who doesnt know much about bikes.

So could you guys tell me what things i need to look out for when i go inspect it?

2. You have set an almost impossible task if you:

a) don't know much about bikes

b) don't know anything about NSR150s.

What is your budget?

I would suggest one in as new condition with low mileage.

You can buy them with under 10k - ours has less than 6k - and providing they are in immaculate order you probably have a good deal. You should be able to pay less than $4,000.

Look for scratches, scuffs, screws or other fittings missing or broken,

Are the levers straight?

Is the fairing or screen cracked?

Is the chain clean and properly lubed - no oil flung all over the rear wheel, or shiny rollers on the chain.

Is the chain worn, so that the rollers do not sit in the bottom of the teeth at the leading and lagging edges of the sprocket?

Does it start easily - third kick from cold, first kick from hot?

Are there any tinkling rattles from the engine? They make a growling, rumbling noise at idle or when revving, but any sort of tinkling rattle, even just when cold, indicates a badly worn piston, or worse.