Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Help me choose an economical daily commuter

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by Kernel Sanders, Mar 9, 2008.

1. In a nutshell, I'm 36 and having a mid-life crisis. I'm an Accountant and have had a gutful of working in an office. About to sign on as a Mature Aged Electrical Apprentice.

Problem is that the Electricians are 50km away and I need to take a freeway (peak hour traffic) to get there. Wanting to sell my car and buy a bike (around $20K with Panniers, helmet & Wet Weather Gear) and zoom between cars. Tools are supplied on the job.

I want a daily commuter that is cheap to service, servicing thats maybe at 10,000km intervals (oil change to be done at home at 5,000km), cheap on tyres. Must have panniers or at least a top box for Wet Weather gear and going to the gym before work. But must still look good and give me the thrill factor without going into the full on race bikes like CBR1000RR, GSXR's etc...

Once I'm fully qualified, then I can buy a van and tools and work in my area.

1st choice is a VFR800. However 6,000km servicing and VTEC that is expensive to service gives me gray hairs.

Other choices are:

So questions are:

Whats cheap to service and maintain? Are there any bikes that have 10,000km service intervals?

I am looking at the right bikes or should I be going more the basic ones like say a GS500?

Tyres - how long do they last if I'm a sedate rider?

2. Mate, firstly welcome to netrider.
    The simple truth is that while Motorcycles are cheaper to run, in terms of fuel, they are dearer than cars in most other ways.