Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

HELP: Kawasaki ZZR-250 won't start

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' at netrider.net.au started by Saradiel, Dec 22, 2012.

1. Hi guys, I'm a newbie to riding and I have stumbled upon this site to find someone who can help me with my problem.

I have a Kawasaki ZZR-250 that was running well when I got it, but not long after I had an issue with this bike after taking it on a longer ride.

As I was riding I noticed that the bike had lost a lot of power but it was still revving high and loud. Eventually I came to a red light and the bike came to a stop, the engine just lost idle and died. Note: There was fuel in the tank.

It took a lot to get it started, a lot of choke and ignition. But I did and rode home with the weird symptoms from before.

I parked it in the garage and returned to find that a lot of fuel had just dropped underneath the bike, all over the floor.

Now the bike will not start, I got it started a few times but it will just die out after a few seconds, and the throttle still has a "lack of power" feeling.

Could it be flooding? Or is my suspicion correct, the carburetors need a clean?

I'm a student and I would just like to fix this myself before spending money. Also if there's anyone who can come check it out I'd be able to return the favour with some free photography and a bottle of Green Label haha, weird mix.

Let me know what you guys think it is! Thanks.

2. You'd give away a bottle of green label but don't want to pay for it?
    Are you sure it's fuel that dropped? Find where it starts from. Check the fuel line from the tank, make sure it's not cracked or ripped.