Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Help...I killed my battery

Discussion in 'Bling and Appearance' started by smiley235, May 3, 2007.

1. I havent been able to ride the across for a few days and I thought it would be a good idea to start it and let it run for a while. I tried to start and it kept cranking but wouldn't kick over. Couple with fact that the headlights weren't helping, it eventually ran out of juice. So I tried roll starting it a number of times down my driveway and each time managed to start the engine but it would then stall within 2-3 seconds. I have no knowledge about motorbike batteries, just wandering if they can be jump started from a car battery and if not, is it hard to install a new battery yourself? Also, I built this 12V battery charger thing at tafe last year and was even considering trying to use that. Any help would be great.

2. use the charger. only need to leave it on for half an hour or so to get enghou for a few start atempts
  3. cool, thanks for that.
  4. arhg, I've been looking for the battery and cant find it. :oops: I pulled off various bits of fairing and all I can see is engine stuff, I cant see where the wires lead back to unless what seems like taking the seat off!! And I so wanna go for a ride tonite :cry:
  5. Get someone to push start you. Get on the bike, ignition on, engage second gear, pull in the clutch, get going by being pushed, when you're rolling well, let out the clutch....vroooom vrooom. The battery will normally have enough charge to restart after about 10-15 k's even with the lights on..(unless it is stuffed or you have a regulator problem).
  6. ok, i'll try that, hope it starts.