Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

HELP!!! Honda VTR250 vs. HORNET 250 (GB 250 Clubman!?)

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by daninjapan, Jul 20, 2008.

1. Hi! Yes, i am a Newbie.. to bikes AND this forum... have a million and one questions, so will try to keep it simple.

Wanted a SR400 for years, learnt that 250s' here in Japan cost f/a so decided on a Clubman (Honda GB 250), but following limited advice in English (they seem to be a domestic bike) led me to this site where i learnt about Hondas' VTR... seems like the perfect bike in every way, looks cool, runs well, good for beginners, and new about 1/2 the price they are back home in aus. (sorry guys!)(smell conspiracy?) etc, etc.... yeah, i'm sold!!! Further research & found Hondas' HORNET... "KOMATA KOMATA" (now I've got worry)... far cry from a GB, looks o.k., but FLIES! O.K. O.K. I'll get to the point, has anyone out there had experience with both HORNET & VTR? what's the verdict? will i get sick of either too soon?

yeah, anyway, any advice would be greatly appreciated...

time for another sake. not driving/riding anywhere tonight!!!!
  2. Welcome to Netrider :)

Both bikes are very popular here in Australia, with lots of loyal riders. The VTR 250 is an 'official' bike here, that is, it is brought in and sold and suported officially by Honda. The 250 Hornet has never been an 'official' bike here, but is imported in big numbers from Japan and sold through unofficial dealers.

I have a 600 Hornet, but I'm sure heaps of Aussie VTR and 250 Hornet owners will answer your questions and give you opinions.
  3. I have not ridden a VTR250. They are, as Paul stated, the 'official' and one of the most popular choices for 250 riders.