Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Help for a newbie!

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by Catie, Jun 30, 2008.

1. Hi All - I'm a complete newbie getting into bike riding. Getting my L's in a few weeks, and starting to have a look at a few bikes and gear etc. Found a fantastic place for gear, last few years superceded models and colours etc half price or less.

In terms of bikes I've discovered that I don't fit on any Hondas except a 125 as my arms are too short, and only thing I've found comfortable are Kawasaki's - they're also the only bikes when sitting on that I can get my feet properly on the ground. Unfortunately they hold their value really well over here, so most are out of my price range. Any other suggestions? And what's the going price for a ZZR250 or GPX 250 in Vic? Coming over for a week next month, so might buy something over there if I can find the right one and ship it back home.

I came across a 1995 ZZR250 this afternoon at around what I think is the right price for what it is. It has a lot of km's, but unfortunately I'm going to have to wear that with my budget. It's recently had a top end rebuild, and has been dropped by the previous owner (learner), but not crashed.

My question is - should this bike be avoided or is there anything I should be wary of because of the engine rebuild? I'm not too worried about the scratches, as I'm going to drop it and add to them anyway. And what price should I be looking at given it's over 60,000km, rebuilt motor, scratched and needing new indicator on front (not absolutely necessary tho)?

Cheers for your help!

Feel free to move the thread if I've put it in the wrong place :)

2. hey, welcome