Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Help deciding on first bike

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by huzey, Aug 21, 2006.

1. Ok, first off, I know it's my own decision and I should go with what I like, but being a complete newby to the whole scene, I'm not sure which bikes to research and not.

I've been talking to some members from this site(prawns etc), and I'm gathering a list of bikes to look at. I want to get away with something from $2000-$4500 range (cheaper is better)

These are the following bikes Iam researching, some are grey's, but I'll be taking two mechanic friends with me who will test everything on the bike to make sure it's not a peice of crap.

Honda CBR250R
    Honda CBR250RR
    Yamaha FZR250

I 100% want a faired bike, simply, I've got a few hundred stored away for when I drop it. So please don't recomend any naked bikes. (I know you guys have experience, and I don't, but im wierd and I'll just simply not like a naked bike)

2. do you want opinions on these bikes or additional suggestions in your budget?

I think the Across is an excellent bike in that price range. the storage is great.
  3. Opinions on these bikes, additional suggestions, everything. I've got time. Thanks
  4. If you must have a four cylinder also have a look at the Kawasaki ZX2R. Otherwise the ZZR might be worth a look, it's a twin so not quite as fast but chances are you'll get one in far, far better condition for that budget than any CBR250RR. All four cylinder 250s are basically the same, especially given that they were restricted in Japan in top speed and in power, and they're all of a fairly similar build quality.
  5. I don't have to have a 4 stroke, anything really.