Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Help Choose First Bike

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by marviin3, Mar 10, 2015.

1. Hey,

I am interested in starting to ride motorcycles. I have no previous experience in any form of motorcycles, although have lots of experience in bicycles :3:3.

And I have had my eye on these bikes:
    • Kawasaki Z300
    • Yamaha MT-03
    • Kawasaki Ninja 300
    Which one of these is best for a new rider which is forgiving, but also has nice power because I would like to keep this bike for a while and not buy a new one in 1 year. So it has to have some good power.

2. Sorry wrong section >:O
  3. As I have a Yamaha, I vote the Yamaha, that's how these things work right....

They'll all be fine just get the prettiest one.
  4. A lot of people say that the MT-03 is very jerky due to the ride-by-wire or something along that, is it really that bad?
  5. Of the three, the KTM Duke 390.

[EDIT] Oh, wait... [/EDIT]
  6. You should test ride it to see if it bothers you.
    • Like Like x 1
  7. The problem is I've never ridden a motorcycle before, and if I for a test ride and drop it.... what happens?
    • Winner Winner x 1
  8. Wait why are you looking at new bikes then, you know that can happen after the test ride as well.

Buy a nice used vtr250 for 3k
    • Like Like x 1
  9. Is that the better choice or just fork out another say 2k and get a new 250-300cc?
  10. None of the bikes in your op are $5k I am pretty sure
  11. The MT-03 has basically been discontinued worldwide. Seems to be still on sale in Australia though. I don't think that's a problem but some might so may hurt resale down the road.