Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Help!! Bike won't start!

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by tubbsy, Mar 31, 2010.

1. I'm new in the country, just moved over from NZ to North Sydney last Wednesday. Can't be without a bike, so bought me a 93 Suzuki RF600R.

Had an absolute cruuuunk of a time trying to get the bike rego'd with the RTA(I won't even go into it).

Now, get home after all day fighting with the RTA, put my new plates on the bike, get on, fires up for a second or two and then dies, now it won't start??

It turns over, but no start. It will hardly move in gear, so push start is tough. I have no mates here yet :)-({|:] so got no-one to get round to help me out, no idea what to do or where to go......appreciate any help offered or given. Kinda at wits end.
  2. Not sure how your doing with cash, since u just arrived in OZ, but give this bloke a call, his name is Mark and hes a mobile motorcycle mechanic, he will go to your place to fix

Sydney Mobile Motorcycle & Scooter Repairs

3. Kill switch?
  4. Awesome, thank you, will do
  5. No, not kill switch. I'm not that much of a noob. 8-[
  6. Welcom to the oz :D

Pull your spark plugs and check thier condition, check that your battery leads arn't loose, and do you know if the bike has been sitting a while? Gunk can build up in the carbs.

And tech problems usually go in this forum

Edit: damn ninja'd
  7. Hi, cheers

I think it had been sitting awhile, no idea how to clear the carbs or anything myself though. Bike is turning over, just not firing up.
  8. Could also be bad fuel then. Drain the fuel from the carbs, disconnect the fuel line from the tank, hook up the dummy tank and see if she fires up.