Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Help! Bike dies mid-ride

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by shmee, Mar 7, 2007.

1. Im a newbie when it comes to bike repair and maintenance, and my kawasaki z200 is giving me the shits. It seems that it might be also called a kz200..

It rarely starts, but does start when i roll it down the hill.

When i try to start it, it really tries but doesnt catch, i checked the spark plug and it does spark.

i took it for a ride and after about 20 minutes it started to run really rough and jerk me around a bit, before the revs slowly dropped regardless of what i tried to do, and then it cut out. Not fun when its 30 degrees and you need to push the bugger for a couple of kms.

I took the carby apart and had a bit of a look, (without really knowing what i was looking for) but it looked ok to someone who has no clue. I checked the fuel lines for blocks but couldnt come up with anything.

Im at the point where i throw my hands in the air and send it to the bike shop, but dont want to pay the big bucks if i can help it.

Any ideas? suggestions?
  2. If it has a fuel tap (reserve/on/off) make sure it is on "reserve" try starting it then.

Also take the tap off, and inspect what is usually a small gauze type filter that will commonly clog with s hit from the tank.
  3. Check the fuels lines, and especially fuel filter, to see if there is a blockage or a kink anywhere in the system. You might like to drain the old fuel and replace it with some nice new stuff to eliminate that, too (make sure you get everything out first.
    Then see if you can find the fuel tank breather tube and make sure it's not blocked.
    After that, your looking at the carb, I reckon.