Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Help/Advice needed

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by RedRobbo, Jul 31, 2012.

1. Hi the good peoples of this forum, I am new to riding, I have a cbr250r. I have been practicing taking off from lights, changing gears up and down but when I am just cruising I rest my right foot on the peg but seem to be pressing down on the rear brake. Do you just move your foot back and just on the peg? I am gaining more confidence riding but this is worrying me. Any advice would be greatly appreciated:).

2. your left foot should not be operating the brake, thats where your gear selector is, you should have the ball of your foot on the peg, when you change gears move your foot, do the change then move your foot back. Learn to hug your tank with your thighs/knees, this is all slow but steady learning that will be second nature later on, have you been in to a sat prac session yet? If not, get in there this saturday!!

Sorry, my bad, your RIGHT foot should have the ball on the peg whilst riding, if you need to use the brake then move the foot forward to use, 'Just testing you 87crisis' [disappointed in the lack of Are you hot] with the new female rider in sydney!! tsk tsk tsk lol
  3. he said his right foot?
  4. don't rest your foot on the brake/gear lever!
  5. The balls of your feet should be on the pegs when you're riding, and you move them forward to operate gears/brake as necessary. It is not a good idea to have your right foot resting on the brake pedal b/c this means your brake light is on all the time, and it confuses the cagers, who won't have any advance notice that you're stopping. You put yourself in danger of being rear ended.