Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Help a newbie pick a bike.

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by gargoyle_eva, Apr 28, 2009.

1. Okay so I'm fairly new to riding.Had my learners for about 18 months now and am about ready to take the test.At the moment I am riding a 90 something honda rebel 250.It's a great bike to learn on and everything but I have been brainwashed by the glorified sport bikes and such on tv.After a month or so of riding on my own I plan on getting either a:

honda CBR125
    kawa zzr 250

Or If you have another suggestion let me know.And please try and keep it to something that at least looks sporty.Not really into the naked look,Although if it's a really nice one I might consider it.(max 250cc)Oh and if you can throw up a picture or 2 if you suggest a different bike so I can see it that would be great.

just a few questions though.Obvious one first off.Which do you guys recommend.I've sat on both bikes and the cbr125 i can flat foot no probs.The zzr I can't quite flatfoot.Although with my new riding boots i might be able to.

Also should I go brand new or see if I can pick up a second hand one in good condition for less.

Thirdly, is their (there?) any difference between a gpx 250 and a zzr 250?
    Just different fairing or are they really different?If you vote for the kawa let me know whether I should go the GPX or ZZR.

As a kid I always said I wanted a ninja.Kinda grew up around a few kawa's but now I'm a little bit older, brand name bias should come second to the supieror bike.
  2. i bought a hyosung 250R and loving it... looks sport, full size and goes well for a 250.

Alot of people bag them but an opinion is just that. Havn't had a single problem with mine and they are great value!