Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' started by NMD, Oct 14, 2006.

1. hey guys,

as im fairly new to the riding scene im on the lookout for a new helmet. as the AGV that im using at the moment has been a hand-me-down over a few years and the lining is starting to fall out of it, very slightly.

anyway, i was in my local bike shop and i saw an R-jays helmet for sale for $110 and a visor on it that was one of those colour flip ones for $40. i was wondering if that helmet would be any good, or whether i should spend a little more and get a different/better helmet. are brand name helmets THAT much better than the this Rjay's helmet and the cheap asian ones?

2. there is numerous threads on this topic. Basically, what price do you think your head is worth?

Saying that though, the $900 ones, you are also paying for the graphics etc.
  3. Rjays is generally entry level stuff and is pretty poor comfort, quality of the stitching can be dodgy. I'd suggest spending a bit more on your helmet.

I've got a M2R Carbon Kevlar Helmet (around $300 worth from memory) and I love it, I tried on Rjays stuff and hated it.

[​IMG] Is my helmet....
  4. I've got a Shoei RF1000, cost me $680 on special for a graphics one (normally $770).

Think you can generally get the plain ones (solid colour) for like $660 or so.

For me, i think the amount I spent on the helmet was completely worth it, it's amazingly comfortable, light, cool and quite noise free.

If I damaged it in a stack I wouldn't hesitate to spend the money on another, albeit, if I bought it again i'd probably buy from the USA, I couldn't give two flying fcuks about the AASB sticker.